Use this guide if you have forgotten the mSecure account password you used to create your account and pre-order mSecure 5.


If you pre-ordered mSecure 5 or used mSecure 5 at any point, you had to create an mSecure account. Our mSecure account is a new account, and it is not tied in anyway to the previous mSecure versions (mSecure 4.5 or below). In the older versions of mSecure, you had to create device specific password. That login password was, or is, not tied to any email or account system.


If you have forgotten the password you used to create your mSecure account, please click on the link below to start an mSecure account reset. After following the instructions on the page you are taken to, your mSecure account will be reset, and you will be able to set a new password for the account:


https://www.msecure.com/request_password_start




Important:


The account reset process will destroy all of your information in mSecure 5. If you have your information stored in mSecure 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5, this account reset will not delete the data in those apps. If you are trying to move over to the new mSecure app, your data in the old mSecure apps will not be affected by anything you do in mSecure 5.


Also, do NOT proceed if you only need to change the password used to unlock mSecure 5. Each mSecure app has its own password change feature located either in the settings for iOS, Android and Windows, or in the menu bar on a Mac. Use the password change feature located within the mSecure app if all you need to do is change your password.



 

Signing in after resetting your account


If you reset your mSecure account, but still have access to mSecure 5 on a device or computer, you must reinstall mSecure 5 on ALL those devices. Your mSecure account will still function locally on the signed in devices that have not been re-installed, but will not work to sync information properly until you reinstall and fully sign back into your mSecure account again.


If using iCloud or Dropbox syncing in mSecure 5 prior to an account reset:

  1. Delete the data.mssb sync file
    • Dropbox (Dropbox/Apps/mSecure 5/accountID/data.mssb)
    • iCloud Drive (iCloud Drive/mSecure/accountID/data.mssb)


You will be unable to use either of these sync features unless the previous sync file is removed. mSecure will create a new data.mssb file when it tries to sync again.


If using a Mac:

  1. Quit mSecure on your MacBook
  2. Open a Finder window and using the menus at the top, select the “Go -> Go to Folder…”
  3. Copy and paste or enter the following text:
    ~/Library/Containers/com.mseven.msecuremac/Data/Library/Application Support/mSecure
  4. Click “Go”
  5. Find the mSecure.mscb file then move it to the trash
  6. Re-launch mSecure
  7. Sign in to your account