Wi-Fi syncing, the most secure way to keep your devices in sync using your local network.


When you first sign in to an mSecure account or create an account in mSecure 5, you will be asked to choose which sync option you’d like to use. You can choose Wi-Fi syncing option at this point. You can also change your sync option at any point to use Wi-Fi if you would like.


Important: mSecure 5 will not sync with the previous versions of mSecure. However, mSecure 5 can restore from a .msim backup file created in the previous versions. Please refer to these articles to learn how to transfer your information from mSecure 3 or 4 to mSecure 5.



 

iOS

  1. Open and unlock mSecure
  2. Tap the menu icon
  3. Tap “Settings”
  4. Tap “Sync Settings”
  5. Tap “Choose Sync Settings”
  6. Select “Wi-Fi”

The sync option is an account wide option. If you change the sync setting on one device, any other device or computer that you are signed in to in mSecure with the same account will also be updated to use the new sync option.


Please make sure to set up a computer as the “Main Computer” in the mSecure 5 settings of the computer you’d like to use as your main computer in order to sync. You’ll also need to make sure that mSecure 5 on your mobile device and computer(s) are both running and unlocked. If no “Main Computer” is selected, you will not be able to use Wi-Fi syncing. Please note that the main computer will be used to sync your data to all other devices.


Auto Sync: Devices making changes or creating records will immediately sync with the main computer. All other devices will sync with the computer and see those changes in a 60 second interval. You’ll have to do a manual sync on your other devices if you do not want to wait up to a minute to see the changes you made on other devices.


Manual Sync: The main computer will not perform a sync. The clients or other devices/computers tell it when to sync. You can disable auto-syncing and keep things manual. However, you’ll need to trigger a manual sync on your clients and not the main computer. To manually sync on iOS (must have at least one record): Tap and hold the top record -> Drag record down -> Release




  

Android

  1. Open and unlock mSecure
  2. Tap the menu icon
  3. Tap “Settings”
  4. Tap “Sync Settings”
  5. Tap “Change Sync Settings”
  6. Select “Wi-Fi”
  7. Tap Ok


The sync option is an account wide option. If you change the sync setting on one device, any other device or computer that you are signed in to in mSecure with the same account will also be updated to use the new sync option.


Please make sure to set up a computer as the “Main Computer” in the mSecure 5 settings of the computer you’d like to use as your main computer in order to sync. You’ll also need to make sure that mSecure 5 on your mobile device and computer(s) are both running and unlocked. If no “Main Computer” is selected, you will not be able to use Wi-Fi syncing. Please note that the main computer will be used to sync your data to all other devices.


Auto Sync: Devices making changes or creating records will immediately sync with the main computer. All other devices will sync with the computer and see those changes in a 60 second interval. You’ll have to do a manual sync on your other devices if you do not want to wait up to a minute to see the changes you made on other devices.


Manual Sync: The main computer will not perform a sync. The clients or other devices/computers tell it when to sync. You can disable auto-syncing and keep things manual. However, you’ll need to trigger a manual sync on your clients and not the main computer.

 


 

Mac

  1. Open and unlock mSecure
  2. Click command+comma (mSecure -> Preferences)
  3. Click “Sync”
  4. Select “Wi-Fi” from the “sync via” dropdown menu
  5. Make sure that you have selected your main computer as the “Main Computer.” All other devices or computer will sync to the main computer


The sync option is an account wide option. If you change the sync setting on one device, any other device or computer that you are signed in to in mSecure with the same account will also be updated to use the new sync option.


Please make sure to set up a computer as the “Main Computer” in the mSecure 5 settings of the computer you’d like to use as your main computer in order to sync. You’ll also need to make sure that mSecure 5 on your mobile device and computer(s) are both running and unlocked. If no “Main Computer” is selected, you will not be able to use Wi-Fi syncing. Please note that the main computer will be used to sync your data to all other devices.


Auto Sync: Devices making changes or creating records will immediately sync with the main computer. All other devices will sync with the computer and see those changes in a 60 second interval. You’ll have to do a manual sync on your other devices if you do not want to wait up to a minute to see the changes you made on other devices.


Manual Sync: The main computer will not perform a sync. The clients or other devices/computers tell it when to sync. You can disable auto-syncing and keep things manual. However, you’ll need to trigger a manual sync on your clients and not the main computer.




 

 

Windows

  1. Open and unlock mSecure
  2. Click the settings or gear icon on the bottom left area
  3. Click “Sync Settings”
  4. Select “Wi-Fi from the “Sync Method” dropdown menu
  5. Make sure that you have selected your main computer as the “Main Computer.” All other devices or computer will sync to the main computer


The sync option is an account wide option. If you change the sync setting on one device, any other device or computer that you are signed in to in mSecure with the same account will also be updated to use the new sync option.


Please make sure to set up a computer as the “Main Computer” in the mSecure 5 settings of the computer you’d like to use as your main computer in order to sync. You’ll also need to make sure that mSecure 5 on your mobile device and computer(s) are both running and unlocked. If no “Main Computer” is selected, you will not be able to use Wi-Fi syncing. Please note that the main computer will be used to sync your data to all other devices.


Auto Sync: Devices making changes or creating records will immediately sync with the main computer. All other devices will sync with the computer and see those changes in a 60 second interval. You’ll have to do a manual sync on your other devices if you do not want to wait up to a minute to see the changes you made on other devices.


Manual Sync: The main computer will not perform a sync. The clients or other devices/computers tell it when to sync. You can disable auto-syncing and keep things manual. However, you’ll need to trigger a manual sync on your clients and not the main computer.





Need Help?

Please use this article for help with WiFi syncing issues.