mSecure Support

Knowledge Base Forums Submit a ticket

Transfer information from mSecure 3 to mSecure 5

Use this guide to learn how to create a backup of mSecure 3 on Mac or Windows and restore from that backup in mSecure 5. Note that mSecure 5 will walk you through a migration process if used for the first time on a device that has the previous version. However, if the migration was skipped or somehow did not happen, you can always create a backup of mSecure 3 or 4 that you can use to restore your information in mSecure 5. 


Mac

In order to get your existing information into mSecure 5, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open mSecure 3.5 on your Mac and enter your password to unlock the app
  2. Click "File > Backup" in the menu bar in the top left of your screen
  3. Save the backup on your Desktop folder on your computer
  4. Open mSecure 5, and enter your password or use TouchID to unlock the app
  5. Click "File > Restore" in the menu bar in the top left of your screen
  6. Using the Finder window dialogue, locate the .msim backup file you just saved to your Desktop folder and click "Open" in the Finder window 


After you have completed these steps, you should now see all of your existing information in mSecure 5. If you are using one of the app's sync features, within a minute or two, all of the data that was just restored should sync over to all your devices running mSecure 5 and signed in to the same account.




Windows

In order to get your existing information into mSecure 5, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open mSecure 3.5 on Windows and enter your password to unlock the app
  2. Click "File > Backup" in the menu bar in the top left of your screen
  3. Save the backup on your Desktop folder on your computer
  4. Open mSecure 5, and enter your password or use Windows Hello to unlock the app
  5. Click Settings (gear icon on the bottom right area)
  6. Click Backups and select "Restore Data"
  7. Using the File Explorer window dialogue, locate the .msim backup file you just saved to your Desktop folder and click "Open" in the dialogue window 


After you have completed these steps, you should now see all of your existing information in mSecure 5. If you are using one of the app's sync features, within a minute or two, all of the data that was just restored should sync over to all your devices running mSecure 5 and signed in to the same account.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?