Your Account Password and Account Key are only accessible by you and is never shared with or stored by mSecure.


Your Account Password and Account Key are like a key to a safe. If you have the correct key, you can open the safe. If not, the safe will remain closed. Because you no longer have the key, no one will ever be able to open the safe again. As a result, in order to obtain a new key and a new safe, you must reset your mSecure account. For an in-depth explanation, please refer to our security page.


The only way to decrypt your saved data is by successfully using your Account Password to unlock your mSecure account. If you have forgotten your Account Password, or lost your Account Key, you will need to reset your account to create a new Account Password and Account key.


Resetting your mSecure account:

  • Wipes your Account Password
  • Wipes all saved data in your account
  • Makes the Account Key obsolete
  • Doesn’t delete your account 
  • Doesn’t affect any active account status or license information

If you’re experiencing issues logging in to your mSecure account or you're not positive you've forgotten your Account Password, please refer to this article.


If you’ve tried the steps listed in the article above and you’re sure you’ll never remember your Account Password, follow the steps to reset your account below.


How to reset your mSecure account:

  1. Open the reset account page in your browser.
  2. Enter the email address that you use as your mSecure account to log in in the available field and click "Start Process".
  3. Open your email client or email service on a browser, find our Account Reset email labeled "Password Reset for mSecure5" and click "Here" link .
  4. Enter a new Account Password, confirm the password, and create a new account hint.
    • If you lost access to your Account Key, you can enter in the same Account Password you were previously using


After resetting your mSecure account:

  1. Reinstall mSecure 5 on all of your devices
    • If using a Mac computer, please follow these steps as well:
      1. Quit mSecure on your Mac
      2. Open a Finder window and using the menus at the top, select the ‘Go’ -> ‘Go to Folder…’
      3. Enter
        ~/Library/Containers/com.mseven.msecuremac/Data/Library/Application Support/mSecure
        and click ‘Go’
      4. Move the mSecure.mscb file to the trash
      5. Re-launch mSecure
      6. Sign in to your account
    • If previous using iCloud or Dropbox syncing:
      • Delete the data.mssb sync file
        • Dropbox (Dropbox/Apps/mSecure 5/accountID/data.mssb)
        • iCloud Drive (iCloud Drive/mSecure/accountID/data.mssb)
  2. Restart your device.
  3. Sign in to your mSecure account using your new Account password and proceed with the on-boarding process to start using mSecure again.