Many of our customers who have used mSecure over the years have run into some confusion in regards to accounts in mSecure 5. This article provides specific information regarding how the new account system works and how it affects you if you are moving to mSecure 5 from previous versions of the app.


Here's a little history of how the licensing worked and how information was stored in older versions of mSecure. Before mSecure 5, accounts did not exist. In order for an account system to exist, there has to be a centralized, online system, sometimes referred to as a "Cloud Service," in place so a user can sign up to establish a presence on that server. These types of services can be used in many ways, but many apps utilize them as a way to simplify purchasing and licensing. With a centralized account system, one user can be licensed to use the app on many or all of their devices. For older versions of mSecure, this type of online, centralized account system did not exist.


If you are someone who used older versions of mSecure on different types of devices, like on a Mac and iPhone, a Windows PC and Android phone, or all of the above, you may remember the surprise and possibly even frustrated when you found out you had to purchase the app again for each device. It may have seemed like a way for us to acquire more money from our customers, but the real reason multiple purchases were required is because there was no account system in those versions of mSecure. Since we had not yet built an online system able to store our customer's licensing information, there was no way for us to know if the user had previously purchased the app on a different device. Whether or not you were licensed to use mSecure on each device was entirely handled by the app store from where you purchased it.


For mSecure 5, there is now a proprietary online service called "mSecure Cloud," and with it, for the first time in the history of the app, user accounts now exist. One of the great benefits of this account system is that licensing is now handled in this centralized system, so our customers no longer have to purchase multiple licenses for each type of device they use. All that is needed is to set up your own personal mSecure account, then purchase an "mSecure Pro" license either from within the app or on our website, and the license is associated with your account. From that point on, if you sign in to that same account in mSecure 5 on any of your iOS, Mac, Android or Windows devices, the "mSecure Pro" license will be recognized, and you will have full access to all features in the app. A single, one-time purchase is all that is needed to run mSecure on all of your devices.


To recap, earlier versions of mSecure cannot make use of an mSecure account. Those versions of the app do not know that an mSecure account exists, and licensing was handled by the app stores. Furthermore, if you are moving to mSecure 5 from an older version of the app, you must create an mSecure account. Because the older versions have no knowledge of any type of account system, if you have not created an account from within the mSecure 5 app or on our website when purchasing an mSecure 5 license, you do not have an mSecure account at this time. Even if you have used mSecure for years, an account must be created in order make use of the new mSecure 5 app.


On top of the benefits to purchasing and licensing, the "mSecure Cloud" also simplifies the retrieval of information and the syncing of information between mSecure 5 apps. If mSecure Cloud syncing is chosen as the sync method in the app's settings, your information is stored securely in the cloud, and after signing in to a new device, that data is synced in immediately. And syncing is easier than ever. Each mSecure 5 app signed in to your account sees the changes you make to your information on a day to day basis, and those changes are kept in sync automatically.


Of course, if you do not want to use "mSecure Cloud" for storing and syncing your information, there are other options. You can choose Dropbox or iCloud (Mac and iOS only) syncing, or if you would like your data to only be stored locally on your devices so that it is never transferred to any type of cloud service, you can choose Wi-Fi syncing as well.


Above are two of the key differences between the old versions of mSecure and the new mSecure 5 app. After you have created an account and choose a sync feature - or no sync feature at all - mSecure 5 functions similarly to the old app. When it is locked, you'll need to use some type of biometric authentication feature or manually enter your password to unlock the app and gain access to your information. After you are signed in to your account for the first time, there is no need to enter your username, which is the email address used to identify your mSecure account, when using the app in the future.




Need help?


Already have an mSecure account? Please use this article to troubleshoot your password issues.